Sunday, June 1, 2014

Kolkata Knight Riders win IPL 7

After being put in to bat first, Kings XI Punjab made an impressive 199 after a superb knock from Wridhiman Saha. A breath taking hundred from the young Indian, scoring 115 of just 55 balls not out. The perfect script was ready for Punjab to bag their first IPL title.

But we were in for another fine innings from Kolkata's young Indian batsman Manish Pandey scoring 94 of 50 balls. It was a super exciting finals, and very very entertaining. But the strangest part is we saw the Indians shine in the finals to make it a one to remember. All the International stars for once had a supporting role to play.

Here is the score card below.

Kolkata Innings - 200/7 (19.3 overs)

BattingOut DescRB4s6sSR
Robin Uthappa (wk)c A Patel b Johnson5310166.7
Gautam Gambhir (c)c D Miller b Karanveer Singh231730135.3
Manish Pandeyc Bailey b Karanveer Singh945076188.0
Yusuf Pathanc Maxwell b Karanveer Singh362204163.6
Shakib Al Hasanrun out (Bailey)12720171.4
Ryan ten Doeschatec D Miller b Karanveer Singh4310133.3
Suryakumar Yadavc Vohra b Johnson560083.3
Piyush Chawlanot out13511260.0
Sunil Narinenot out240050.0
Extras6(b - 0 w - 6, nb - 0, lb - 0)
Total200(19.3 Overs, 7 Wickets)
Did not bat:Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav
Mitchell Johnson4041210.2
Lakshmipathy Balaji4041010.2
Parvinder Awana3.3043012.3
Karanveer Singh4054413.5
Akshar Patel402105.2

Punjab Innings - 199/4 (20 overs)

BattingOut DescRB4s6sSR
Virender Sehwagc Gambhir b Umesh7101070.0
Manan Vohrac & b Chawla675262128.8
George Bailey (c)b Narine120050.0
Wriddhiman Saha (wk)not out11555108209.1
Glenn Maxwellc M Morkel b Chawla01000.0
David Millernot out1100100.0
Extras8(b - 0 w - 3, nb - 1, lb - 4)
Total199(20 Overs, 4 Wickets)
Did not bat:Akshar Patel, Mitchell Johnson, Parvinder Awana, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Karanveer Singh
Morne Morkel4040010.0
Umesh Yadav403919.8
Sunil Narine4046111.5
Shakib Al Hasan402606.5
Piyush Chawla4044211.0
With this we close the Indian Premier League 7 with a bang. And Congratulations to Kolkata for winning their second title equaling Chennai's record of two IPL wins. But with all this celebrations we got to feel for Punjab, the lads deserved a win in their first IPL final ever. And certainly well played to both the teams.

Guys lets wait next year again for another cracker of a tournament.

No comments:

Post a Comment